## **MISSISSIPPI**

## **PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION**

Lynn Posey, Chairman
R. Stephen Renfroe, Vice Chairman
Brandon Presley, Commissioner
Katherine Collier, Executive Secretary



**EXECUTIVE SUMMARY** 

**ANNUAL REPORT** 

**ENDING JUNE 30, 2014** 

## **EXECUTIVE SUMMARY**

Governor Robert Lowery signed legislation, on March 11, 1884, creating the Mississippi Railroad Commission. The Governor appointed the first Commissioners to serve for two years, and then, until 1892, the Legislature elected the Commissioners to serve two-year terms. From 1886 until 1938, the Commission maintained jurisdiction over various industries including railroads, express, telephone, telegraph and limited motor carrier regulation.

During the 1938 Session of the Legislature, the Motor Carrier Regulatory Act was enacted, changing the name of the Railroad Commission to the Mississippi Public Service Commission and placed regulation and supervision of motor carriers under its jurisdiction. Electric, gas and water utilities were placed under the jurisdiction of the Public Service Commission with the passage of the Utility Act of 1956. In 1968, the 1956 Utility Act was amended to include the regulation of sewage disposal systems by the Commission.

During the 2004 regular Legislative session, House Bill 1279 mandated the transfer of all Public Service Commission employees, equipment, inventory and resources, employed and used to enforce the Motor Carrier Regulatory Law of 1938, to the Mississippi Department of Transportation effective July 1, 2004.

At this time, telecommunications, electric, gas, water and sewer utilities, are under the supervision and regulation of this Commission. It is the Commission's responsibility to ensure that rates and charges for service are just and reasonable, that the approved rate schedules are adhered to, that the service rendered is reasonably adequate, and that the facilities constructed or acquired are required for the convenience and necessity of the public.

The Commission is composed of three elected Commissioners, one from each of the Supreme Court Districts. The Commissioners are elected in the general election at the same time all other State and County officials are elected. Their term of office is for four years beginning on January 1, following election.

The Gas Pipeline Safety Division of the Commission performs safety inspections including operation, maintenance, design, construction, installation, testing, and accident investigations. In FY 14, this department performed 635 inspections identifying 0 violations.

The Legislature passed S.B. No. 2445 authorizing the Commission to enforce the Mississippi Telephone Solicitations Act, beginning July 1, 2003. During fiscal year 2014, The Commission registered 133 telemarketers and placed an additional 35,311 Mississippi consumers on our "No Call" list. Also during this reporting period, the Commission received 13,275 complaints against telemarketers for violating the Mississippi Telephone Solicitation Act. The Commission issued a total of 13 complaints against telemarketers and assessed \$95,000 in fines and penalties.

This Legislation has greatly reduced the number of unsolicited telemarketing calls for residential consumers.

It is the responsibility of the Commission to monitor the quality and adequacy of service provided by the jurisdictional utilities including the applications of approved rates and charges. During fiscal year 2014 the Commission received 6,484 consumer complaints against utility companies. During this report period, the Commission was active in the investigation and handling of over 20,525 different matters, which pertained to utility rate and service complaints. Most of these inquiries have been settled informally to the satisfaction of the complainant.

The following is a tabulation of type of utility complaints and inquiries received:

Electric	3,255
Gas	425
Water	415
Sewer	42
Telephone:	
Consumer Complaints	2,347
No Call Complaints	13,275
Miscellaneous Other	<u>766</u>
TOTAL	20,525

During FY 14, the Commission received and docketed 288 cases.

The following is a list totaling and categorizing all formal action taken by the Commission during the 2014 fiscal year:

UTILITY DOCKET	<u>JULY 1, 2013 - JUNE 30, 2014</u>					
	<u>Communication</u>	<u>Electric</u>	<u>Gas</u>	<u>Water</u>	<u>Sewer</u>	
Utility Rate/Tariff						
Revisions Approved.	154	13	30	8	15	
Utility Rate Matters						
Denied	0	0	0	0	0	
Utility Certificates of						
C. & N. Approved.	9	8	6	3	6	
Sale of Stock/Transfer						
of Certificate	10	1	0	8	5	
Service Matters	51	17	9	3	2	
Utility Refunds Granted	0	0	0	0	0	
Applications Retired						
to Files	0	2	0	0	0	
Cases Dismissed/Withdrawn	54	0	3	5	1	
Cases Not Yet Decided	176	203	96	121	94	
Commission's Own Motion	0	0	0	0	0	
Certificates Cancelled	<u>7</u>	<u>0</u>	<u>0</u>	<u>0</u>	<u>0</u>	
TOTALS	461	244	144	148	123	

Copies of the Commission's Annual Report, for the year ending June 30, 2014, are available, upon request, by contacting the Executive Secretary of the Commission, P.O. Box 1174, Jackson, Mississippi 39215-1174; Telephone (601) 961-5405.